I went to Paris and all I got was a hangover and +5 pounds.

Excuse the sensationalist title, but I couldn’t help it.

I love Paris. 

I went for the first time in 2011, and then again in 2012, and again in 2013. I would be there right now, if I didn’t have to – you know – pay bills etc.

My favourite part of Paris?

Drinking Paris Dry
Drinking Paris Dry

Ok, that might be a bit of an exaggeration, but it’s not far off the mark. My favourite thing to do in Paris is to go from cafe to cafe and drink wine. Hence the near constant hangover (until the first glass of wine of the day, naturellement) and the extra 5 pounds I gained on my most recent trip.

Paris is famous for its incredible metro and the wonderful Velib service the city offers, and yet I will always advocate walking. Why? Because when you walk you see the soul of a city. You see every side of it – good and bad – and see parts that maybe the rest of the city has forgotten.

You get to see things like this:

Paris Streetstyle
Paris Streetstyle

That incredible style and attitude that Paris is known for. I had to snap a pic of this guy, but I wish I had filmed it as the swagger he had was unreal.

Some of the most beautiful homes in Paris are hidden off of side streets that you’ll only find when you’re day drunk at 1 in the afternoon, and you’ve given up trying to get anywhere on time – or read your map – so now you’re just going to walk until you don’t want to anymore.

You see houses like this:

Gorgeous Apartment in the 5eme
Gorgeous Apartment in the 5eme

Saw this beauty in the 5ème arrondissement when I was on my way back from the Jardin des Plantes. I was on my way to Place de la Contrescarpe for some wine with my friend. We were both pretty hopelessly lost, but finding this was completely worth it.

So how did I gain 5 pounds if I was walking everywhere? Probably a mix between the minimum 3 bottles of wine I was drinking a day, plus the multiple charcuterie plates, pastries, baguettes & ice cream. There’s only so much you can walk off.

Afternoon wine & charcuterie at Cafe du Centre on Rue montorgueil.
Afternoon wine & charcuterie at Cafe du Centre on Rue montorgueil.
2 thoughts on “I went to Paris and all I got was a hangover and +5 pounds.

Leave a Reply

