Getting to know République

I moved again! This will be something that comes up again and again, as getting an apartment in Paris is very difficult. Beyond the daunting dossier that you have to assemble, there is the wonderful cycle of insanity that is opening a bank account.

You need a permanent address to open a french bank account.

You need a french bank account to get a permanent address.

Around and around and around you go!

There are, luckily, ways around it. One of them is to get an attestation d’hébergement which is a written declaration from a French citizen that says that you live somewhere – generally their own address – and that they will vouch for you.

Until I can get a permanent address I’ve got to float from apartment to apartment, generally only staying a month or two. My last place in Montparnasse was only for a month. This place I (thankfully) have for TWO WHOLE MONTHS. Wonderful. That’s two months without having to schlepp my luggage through the metro.

My new neighbourhood is in the 11th, just on the other side of Place de la République. I really like it – it’s young, there are wonderful looking bars & restaurants, and lots of great little shops and markets. I am actually super lucky in that there is a delicious fruit & vegetable vendor that’s directly around the corner from me, and across the street from that there is a wonderful bakery. And then, just a block down the street, there is a delicious butcher, a cheese mongers & a fish mongers.

Parfait.

Canal
Canal

My Street

My little apartment at breakfast
My little apartment at breakfast
The view out the window isn't quite as exciting.
The view out the window isn’t quite as exciting.

Canal

The shops are starting to get christmas-y!
The shops are starting to get christmas-y!
Leave a Reply

