Why I Dropped Everything and Travelled around Thailand for a Month. (A.K.A Making the best of Unemployment)

Short Version? Because I could.

So what have I been up to since December? I worked a (tiny) bit, my parents came and visited me over Christmas, went to Madrid for New Year’s Eve, explored Normandy for a weekend (more on that later) and then, oh yeah, fucked off to Thailand for a month.

Grand Palace, Bangkok

The why really is that simple: Because I could. I still hadn’t found full time work anywhere in Paris and my freelance contracts had run out. I had a chunk of money set aside, my lease on my apartment was up, and I had nothing planned for February. So after some back and forth deliberation with some friends, and lots of “just fucking do it” pep-talks I booked my ticket.

IMG_2376

There are only so many times in my life that I will be debt-free, responsibility-free, relationship-free, and essentially free to do something as reckless, impulsive, expensive and potentially dangerous as this.

When that sort of situation presents itself, I’m a firm believer in taking that huge leap into the unknown. Whether it be travel, work or relationships you always need to take that leap.

Over the next little while I’ll update with some of the details of my trip – pictures, recipes, stories – as well as the more practical side like, how the hell do you get from Chiang Mai to Koh Tao, and how can you do it in less than 36 hours?

So, am I glad I did it?

IMG_2115

Abso-fucking-lutely

One thought on “Why I Dropped Everything and Travelled around Thailand for a Month. (A.K.A Making the best of Unemployment)

Leave a Reply

